Whoa! G-Wizard Editor is a showcase for Away3D!

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’m very pleased that G-Wizard Editor is one of the Showcase Apps for Away3D, a Flex/Flash 3D graphics library.  It’s been pretty cool to be able to do my CNC software in Flex, and my g-code simulator wouldn’t really have been possible with the Away3D library.  In case you don’t know what I’m talking about here, I made a nice page to explain what a CNC machine is.

Here’s what G-Wizard looks like:

G-Wizard g-code simulator and editor

G-Wizard g-code simulator and editor uses the Away3D library…

At the moment I’m feverishly coding away to build a portability library so I can switch between Away3D 3.6 and Away3D 4.0 Beta.  4.0 uses the new native gpu support introduced with Flash Player 11, but I don’t want to be permanently committed to it until I see that it’s all stable and working well.

I was amused to see that Away3D 4.0 uses the technique I mention below in my post about creating meshes faster.  I am definitely not claiming to have given them the idea, it’s just neat when great minds think alike.  Makes me feel like I actually understood how their code works.

Leave a Reply

